Kew Post Office [ca.1892], Kew Historical Society collection.

Kew and East Kew are within the clan territory of the Wurundjeri Willam. In 1803, the Charles Grimes Survey Party entered into this territory and explored beyond Dight’s Falls. Forty-two years later, in 1845, there were the first successful sales of crown land to new settlers. By 1860, Kew had grown to the extent where residents were able to successfully withdraw from the Boroondara Road District to form the Municipality of Kew. From being a separate municipality with an elected chairman, Kew progressed to a Borough (1863), a Town (1910) and finally a City (1921). In 1994, the City of Kew was amalgamated into the new City of Boroondara

A number of histories of Kew have published timelines and chronologies. Our general chronology is grouped in 50-year periods and identifies significant events in Kew’s history.

Subject Files and Newsletters
Since 1958, the society’s members have been creating Subject Files that contain primary and secondary sources about topics. Newsletters are also major means of communicating historical research by members. The Society uses Victorian Collections as a record of what is contained in the Subject Files and Newsletters. We advise you to search for particular topics using the following method.

1. Go to the Kew Historical Society’s section of Victorian Collections.
2. Scroll down the page to view the Search box.
3. To search the Subject Files use “Subject File+topic”
4. To search the Newsletters use “Newsletter+topic”

If you can’t find information on the topic in which you are interested, we may be able to help you. Queries should be addressed to info@kewhistoricalsociety.org.au